Theme leaders & affiliates

The Aerospace Research Institute is truly cross and multi-disciplinary in nature, with membership comprising a large number of academic and research staff representing all disciplines of aerospace research across Schools within the Faculty of Science and Engineering. All academic members and associates are affiliated with a Department within the University.

The below directory lists the academic Theme Leaders who represent and lead each of the Aerospace Research Institute's Research Themes. A wider group of academic and research affiliates support the activities of the Aerospace Research Institute. 

To read more, follow the links to individual research profiles and affiliated Departments.

 

Aerodynamics & flow control
Research Areas Theme Leader Email Department
Experimental aerodynamics Shan Zhong shan.zhong@manchester.ac.uk Mechanical, Aerospace and Civil Engineering
Mark Quinn mark.quinn@manchester.ac.uk Mechanical, Aerospace and Civil Engineering
Computational fluid dynamics Alistair Revell alistair.revell@manchester.ac.uk Mechanical, Aerospace and Civil Engineering
 
Aerospace materials
Research Areas Theme Leader Email Department
Composites Costas Soutis constantinos.soutis@manchester.ac.uk Materials
Matthieu Gresil matthieu.gresil@manchester.ac.uk Materials
Light alloys Philip Prangnell philip.prangnell@manchester.ac.uk  Materials
Joseph Robson joseph.d.robson@manchester.ac.uk  Materials
 
Aerospace structures & fire engineering
Research Areas Theme Leader Email Department
 Structures, dynamics, aeroelasticity Kali-babu Katnam  kali-babu.katnam@manchester.ac.uk  Mechanical, Aerospace and Civil Engineering
 Fire engineering Yong Wang yong.wang@manchester.ac.uk  Mechanical, Aerospace and Civil Enginnering
 
AI, aerospace robotics & space mining
Research Areas Theme Leader Email Department

Autonomous systems, control,

cyber security, biomimetics  

Alexandru Stancu alexandru.stancu@manchester.ac.uk   Electrical and Electronic Engineering
Zhengtao Ding zhengtao.ding@manchester.ac.uk  Electrical and Electronic Engineering
Lucas Cordeiro lucas.cordeiro@manchester.ac.uk  Computer Science
Jonny Blaker jonny.blaker@manchester.ac.uk  Materials
 
Aviation and the environment 
Research Areas Theme Leader Email  Department 

Noise, environmental sciences, recycling 

Antonio Filippone A.Filippone@manchester.ac.uk  Mechanical, Aerospace and Civil Engineering 
Meini Su meini.su@manchester.ac.uk  Mechanical, Aerospace and Civil Engineering 
 
Electrical systems
Research Areas Theme Leader Email  Department 
Power systems, high voltage   Ian Cotton ian.cotton@manchester.ac.uk  Electrical and Electronic Engineering
Sandy Smith sandy.smith@manchester.ac.uk  Electrical and Electronic Engineering 
 
Propulsion & energy
Research Areas Theme Leader Email  Department 
Engines, thermodynamics, rotorcraft   Nicholas Bojdo nicholas.bojdo@manchester.ac.uk  Mechanical, Aerospace and Civil Engineering 
Hector Iacovides h.iacovides@manchester.ac.uk  Mechanical, Aerospace and Civil Engineering 
 
Space systems
Research areas Theme Leader Email  Department 
Space control, satellites  Peter Roberts peter.c.e.roberts@manchester.ac.uk  Mechanical, Aerospace and Civil Engineering 
Kate Smith kate.smith Mechanical, Aerospace and Civil Engineering 
Space re-entry vehicles, hypersonics Sergey Utyuzhnikov S.Utyuzhnikov@manchester.ac.uk  Mechanical, Aerospace and Civil Engineering 
 
Discovery, design & demonstration
Research areas Theme Leader Email  Department 
Cross disciplinary academic & student projects William Crowther bill.crowther@manchester.ac.uk  Mechanical, Aerospace and Civil Engineering 

 

  

▲ Up to the top