Members

The Aerospace Research Institute is truly cross and multi-disciplinary in nature. There are currently more than 100 academics from across each of the faculties within The University of Manchester who make up the membership of the Institute. All academic Members and Associates are affiliated with a home School within The University. The directory below lists the academic staff currently affiliated with the Institute. To find out more about each individual you may wish to follow the link to their affiliated school.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

NameThemeEmailSchool
Abeykoon, Chamil

Heat Transfer, Control and Dynamics

chamil.abeykoon@manchester.ac.uk Materials
Anderson, Kevin Environment kevin.anderson@manchester.ac.uk Mechanical, Aerospace and Civil Engineering
Apsley, David Fluid Dynamics Technologies david.d.apsley@manchester.ac.uk Mechanical, Aerospace and Civil Engineering
Armitage, David Aviation Security, Imaging and NDT d.armitage@manchester.ac.uk Electrical and Electronic Engineering
Bailey, Colin Structures Colin.Bailey@manchester.ac.uk Engineering and Physical Sciences
Bane, Michael

Fluid Dynamics Technologies

Synthetic Environments

michael.bane@manchester.ac.uk  
Barnes, Mike Advanced Electrical Power Systems mike.barnes@manchester.ac.uk Electrical and Electronic Engineering
Bonello, Philip

Environment

Structures

Philip.Bonello@manchester.ac.uk Mechanical, Aerospace and Civil Engineering
Brooke, John

Aviation Security, Imaging and NDT

CICADA

Synthetic Environments

John.Brooke@manchester.ac.uk Computer Science
Broomhead, David

Autonomous Systems

CICADA

david.broomhead@manchester.ac.uk Mathematics
Brown, Martin CICADA Martin.Brown@manchester.ac.uk Electrical and Electronic Engineering
Cernik, Bob Aviation Security, Imaging and NDT B.Cernik@manchester.ac.uk Materials
Chen, Xiaogang

Aviation Security, Imaging and NDT

Composites

xiaogang.chen@manchester.ac.uk Materials
Choularton, Thomas Environment choularton@manchester.ac.uk Earth and Environmental Sciences
Coe, Hugh Environment hugh.coe@manchester.ac.uk Earth and Environmental Sciences
Cootes, Tim Aviation Security, Imaging and NDT timothy.f.cootes@manchester.ac.uk Cancer and Enabling Sciences
Cotton, Ian Advanced Electrical Power Systems ian.cotton@manchester.ac.uk Electrical and Electronic Engineering
Cotton, Mark Fluid Dynamics Technologies mark.cotton@manchester.ac.uk Mechanical, Aerospace and Civil Engineering
Craft, Timothy Fluid Dynamics Technolgies tim.craft@manchester.ac.uk Mechanical, Aerospace and Civil Engineering
Crowther, Bill

Autonomous Systems

Fluid Dynamics Technologies

bill.crowther@manchester.ac.uk Mechanical, Aerospace and Civil Engineering
Davey, Keith Structures keith.davey@manchester.ac.uk Mechanical, Aerospace and Civil Engineering
Derby, Brian Advanced Manufacture Brian.Derby@manchester.ac.uk Materials
Duck, Peter Fluid Dynamics Technologiesa peter.duck@manchester.ac.uk Mathematics
Dudek, Piotr Aviation Security, Imaging and NDT p.dudek@manchester.ac.uk Electrical and Electronic Engineering
Dupere, Iain Fluid Dynamics Technologies Iain.Dupere@manchester.ac.uk Mechanical, Aerospace and Civil Engineering
Filippone, Antonio

Autonomous Systems

Environment

Fluid Dynamics Technologies

A.Filippone@manchester.ac.uk Mechanical, Aerospace and Civil Engineering
Fonseca, Joao Aerospace Alloys Joao.Fonseca@manchester.ac.uk Materials
Forsyth, Andrew

Advanced Electrical Power Systems

Autonomous Systems

Andrew.Forsyth@manchester.ac.uk Electrical and Electronic Engineering
Foster, David Aviation Security, Imaging and NDT d.h.foster@manchester.ac.uk Electrical and Electronic Engineering
Freeman, Len Synthetic Environments len.freeman@manchester.ac.uk Computer Science
Furber, Stephen CICADA steve.furber@manchester.ac.uk Computer Science
Gajjar, Jitesh Fluid Dynamics Technologies jitesh.gajjar@manchester.ac.uk Mathematics
Galata, Aphrodite Synthetic Enviroments A.Galata@manchester.ac.uk Computer Science
Gallagher, Martin Environment martin.gallagher@manchester.ac.uk Earth and Environmental Sciences
Gaydecki, Patrick Aviation Security, Imaging and NDT patrick.gaydecki@manchester.ac.uk Electrical and Electronic Engineering
Glendinning, Paul CICADA paul.glendinning@manchester.ac.uk Mathematics
Goddard, Nick Aviation Security, Imaging and NDT nick.goddard@manchester.ac.uk Chemical Engineering and Analytical Science
Gray, Nico Fluid Dynamics Technologies nico.gray@manchester.ac.uk Mathematics
Green, Peter Autonomous Systems peter.green@manchester.ac.uk Electrical and Electronic Engineering
Gurd, John Synthetic Environments john.r.gurd@manchester.ac.uk Computer Science
Hamilton, Bruce Aviation Security, Imaging and NDT bruce.hamilton@manchester.ac.uk Electrical and Electronic Engineering
Hayhurst, David Advanced Manufacture d.r.hayhurst@manchester.ac.uk Mechanical, Aerospace and Civil Engineering
Hazel, Andrew Fluid Dynamics Technologies Andrew.Hazel@manchester.ac.uk Mathematics
Heil, Matthias Fluid Dynamics Technologies matthias.heil@manchester.ac.uk Mathematics
Heinemann, Robert Advanced Manufacture Robert.Heinemann@manchester.ac.uk Mechanical, Aerospace and Civil Engineering
Higham, Nick CICADA nick.higham@manchester.ac.uk Mathematics
Hinduja, Srichand Advanced Manufacture sri.hinduja@manchester.ac.uk Mechanical, Aerospace and Civil Engineering
Howard, Toby Synthetic Enviroments toby.howard@manchester.ac.uk Computer Science
Iacovides, Hector Fluid Dynamics Technologies h.iacovides@manchester.ac.uk Mechanical, Aerospace and Civil Engineering
Ji, Tianjian Structures tianjian.ji@manchester.ac.uk Mechanical, Aerospace and Civil Engineering
Juel, Anne Fluid Dynamics Technologies Anne.Juel@manchester.ac.uk Mathematics
Kinloch, Ian Composites Ian.Kinloch@manchester.ac.uk Materials
Lane-Serff, Gregory

Autonomous Systems

Fluid Dynamics Technologies

Gregory.F.Lane-Serff@manchester.ac.uk Mechanical, Aerospace and Civil Engineering
Lanzon, Alexander Autonomous Systems Alexander.Lanzon@manchester.ac.uk Electrical and Electronic Engineering
Larkin, Alice Environment alice.larkin@manchester.ac.uk Earth and Environmental Sciences
Launder, Brian Fluid Dynamics Technologies brian.launder@manchester.ac.uk Mechanical, Aerospace and Civil Engineering
Laurence, Dominique Fluid Dynamics Technologies dominique.laurence@manchester.ac.uk Mechanical, Aerospace and Civil Engineering
Li, Lin Advanced Manufacture lin.li@manchester.ac.uk Mechanical, Aerospace and Civil Engineering
Li, Qingming Structures Qingming.Li@manchester.ac.uk Mechanical, Aerospace and Civil Engineering
Lionheart, Bill Aviation Security, Imaging and NDT bill.lionheart@manchester.ac.uk Mathematics
Liu, Zhu Aerospace Alloys Zhu.Liu@manchester.ac.uk Materials
Mandal, Parthsarathi Structures partha.mandal@manchester.ac.uk Mechanical, Aerospace and Civil Engineering
Mander, Sarah Environment S.Mander@manchester.ac.uk Mechanical, Aerospace and Civil Engineering
Mativenga, Paul Advanced Manufacture P.Mativenga@manchester.ac.uk Mechanical, Aerospace and Civil Engineering
Methven, Jim Advanced Manufacture jim.methven@manchester.ac.uk Mechanical, Aerospace and Civil Engineering
Missous, Mohamed Aviation Security, Imaging and NDT m.missous@manchester.ac.uk Electrical and Electronic Engineering
Nasser, Adel Fluid Dynamics Technologies a.g.nasser@manchester.ac.uk Mechanical, Aerospace and Civil Engineering
Oakley, John Aviation Security, Imaging and NDT john.oakley@manchester.ac.uk Electrical and Electronic Engineering
O'Connor, Elinor Enterprise Elinor.O'Connor@mbs.ac.uk Manchester Business School
Oyadiji, Olutunde

Composites

Structures

s.o.oyadiji@manchester.ac.uk Mechanical, Aerospace and Civil Engineering
Ozanyan, Krikor Aviation Security, Imaging and NDT k.ozanyan@manchester.ac.uk Electrical and Electronic Engineering
Parker, Geoff Aviation Security, Imaging and NDT geoff.parker@manchester.ac.uk Cancer and Enabling Sciences
Persaud, Krishna Aviation Security, Imaging and NDT krishna.persaud@manchester.ac.uk Chemical Engineering and Analytical Science
Peyton, Tony Aviation Security, Imaging and NDT a.peyton@manchester.ac.uk Electrical and Electronic Engineering
Pinning, Robin

Aviation Security, Imaging and NDT

Fluid Dynamics Technologies

Synthetic Environments

pinning@manchester.ac.uk Research Computing
Potluri, Prasad Composites prasad.potluri@manchester.ac.uk Materials
Prangnell, Philip Aerospace Alloys philip.prangnell@manchester.ac.uk Materials
Preuss, Michael Aerospace Alloys Michael.Preuss@manchester.ac.uk Materials
Revell, Alistair Fluid Dynamics Technologies alistair.revell@manchester.ac.uk Mechanical, Aerospace and Civil Engineering
Riley, Graham Synthetic Environments graham.riley@manchester.ac.uk Computer Science
Roberts, Peter Space peter.c.e.roberts@manchester.ac.uk Mechanical, Aerospace and Civil Engineering
Robson, Joseph Aerospace Alloys joseph.d.robson@manchester.ac.uk Materials
Rogers, Benedict Fluid Dynamics Technologies Benedict.Rogers@manchester.ac.uk Mechanical, Aerospace and Civil Engineering
Rowland, Simon

Advanced Electrical Power Systems

Composites

S.Rowland@manchester.ac.uk Electrical and Electronic Engineering
Sampson, Bill Composites william.sampson@manchester.ac.uk Materials
Scully Patricia Aviation Security, Imaging and NDT Patricia.Scully@manchester.ac.uk Photon Science Institute
Shapiro, Jonathan CICADA jonathan.l.shapiro@manchester.ac.uk Computer Science
Sheikh, Mohammad Advanced Manufacture mohammad.a.sheikh@manchester.ac.uk Mechanical, Aerospace and Civil Engineering
Shuttleworth, Roger Advanced Electrical Power Systems roger.shuttleworth@manchester.ac.uk Electrical and Electronic Engineering
Silverster, David Fluid Dynamics Technologies david.silvester@manchester.ac.uk Mathematics
Sinha, Jyoti Structures Jyoti.Sinha@manchester.ac.uk Mechanical, Aerospace and Civil Engineering
Skeldon, Peter Aerospace Alloys peter.skeldon@manchester.ac.uk Materials
Smith, Sandy

Advanced Electrical Power Systems

Autonomous Systems

sandy.smith@manchester.ac.uk Electrical and Electronic Engineering
Song, Aimin Aviation Security, Imaging and NDT A.Song@manchester.ac.uk Electrical and Electronic Engineering
Stansby, Peter Fluid Dynamics Technologies p.k.stansby@manchester.ac.uk Mechanical, Aerospace and Civil Engineering
Swailes, Thomas Structures thomas.swailes@manchester.ac.uk Mechanical, Aerospace and Civil Engineering
Tafreshi, Azam Structures Azam.Tafreshi@manchester.ac.uk Mechanical, Aerospace and Civil Engineering
Taylor, Chris Aviation Security, Imaging and NDT chris.taylor@manchester.ac.uk Cancer and Enabling Sciences
Thompson, George

Aerospace Alloys

Structures

george.thompson@manchester.ac.uk Materials
Turan, Ali Fluid Dynamics Technologies A.Turan@manchester.ac.uk Mechanical, Aerospace and Civil Engineering
Turner, Martin

Autonomous Systems

Aviation Security, Imaging and NDT

Synthetic Environments

martin.turner@manchester.ac.uk Research Computing
Utyuzhnikov, Sergei Fluid Dynamics Technologies S.Utyuzhnikov@manchester.ac.uk Mechanical, Aerospace and Civil Engineering
Van Silfhout, Roelof Aviation Security, Imaging and NDT R.VanSilfhout@manchester.ac.uk Electrical and Electronic Engineering
Vaughan, Geraint Environment Geraint.Vaughan@manchester.ac.uk Earth and Environmental Sciences
Walker, Andrew Composites Andrew.M.Walker@manchester.ac.uk Materials
Wang, Hong CICADA hong.wang@manchester.ac.uk Electrical and Electronic Engineering
Wang, Yong

Composites

Structures

yong.wang@manchester.ac.uk Mechanical, Aerospace and Civil Engineering
Wilkinson, Arthur Composites Arthur.Wilkinson@manchester.ac.uk Materials
Williams, Stephen Aviation Security, Imaging and NDT steve.williams@manchester.ac.uk Cancer and Enabling Sciences
Wood, Ruth Environment Ruth.Wood@manchester.ac.uk Mechanical, Aerospace and Civil Engineering
Wu, Zhipeng Structures zhipeng.wu@manchester.ac.uk Electrical and Electronic Engineering
Yang, Wuqiang Aviation Security, Imaging and NDT wuqiang.yang@manchester.ac.uk Electrical and Electronic Engineering
Yin, Hujun Aviation Security, Imaging and NDT hujun.yin@manchester.ac.uk Electrical and Electronic Engineering
York, Trevor Aviation Security, Imaging and NDT t.york@manchester.ac.uk Electrical and Electronic Engineering
Young, Robert Composites robert.young@manchester.ac.uk Materials
Zhong, Shan Fluid Dynamics Technologies shan.zhong@manchester.ac.uk Mechanical, Aerospace and Civil Engineering
Zhou, Xiaorong Aerospace Alloys xiaorong.zhou@manchester.ac.uk Materials
Zou, Zhenmin Structures Zhenmin.Zou@manchester.ac.uk Mechanical, Aerospace and Civil Engineering
▲ Up to the top